How my piggies helped me

poptot

Post   » Fri Jul 18, 2003 10:51 am

Hi everyone,

I'm an international student living in Canada and after reading all the posts in so many forums (including CM,Cavycages and several others) I thought I should post a message here.I guess I should give a bit of background about me first.

I use the name Poptot as a short form after my two boars Popi + Toto = Poptot. My piggies literally changed my life here.I have always been a cat person but since I live in an apt building here, I can't have pets.

Well, I've been here for six years now and I'm finishing Med school next spring.(phew..finally!) I hit a rough spot at the end of last year-I was doing a tough rotation at that time where sleepless nights were the norm and my social life suffered as a result. My roomate just graduated and all of my other countrymen all whom graduated last spring has gone back to our native country. I was left alone.I am close to a couple of my canadian classmates but since we've just started the clinical years of med school(which simply means we're doing ,more hospital work,no lectures) we just couldn't meet up due to different schedules.

That was when I got into a depressive episode.I was homesick,isolated in this bachelor apt,halfway across the world from loved ones.Nothing cheered me up,I had to take a leave of absence and deferred exams.My parents even suggested I go home and continue my education there.I refused to give in.I had to finish my education here.There's no use spending 6 years of my life here only to end up with a medical degree from back home. But I have never been in a lower state in my life!Even after medication and time off school,I was still such a sad sack!