The Grey's Gang

GreysGuineaPigs

Post   » Sat Jul 14, 2018 11:10 pm

Raised on a farm, I grew up around tons of animals. No 'small animals,' per se, but we had about 8 dogs, cats, and a lot of cattle. At one point, we also had outdoor rabbits. I moved off to complete my graduate work and earn my doctorate, into a two-bedroom with no roommates and no dogs allowed. Last year, I decided that I was either going to have to get myself some furry company, or I was going to go slowly insane. I started out with two dwarf hamsters. As a pharmacy student, I am addicted to Grey's Anatomy, so they were named Christina and Meredith. I loved the little furballs and still do. One day I went to the pet store to get some of their food when I happened to look at their wall of animals. Inside one of the ridiculously tiny cages was an entire litter of Syrian hamsters. It broke my heart to see them so cramped...so I took home three of them. Since this forum isn't about hamsters, I'll skip to the end of that road and say that after a year I ended up owning 2 dwarf hamsters and 4 Syrian hamsters, all of them spoiled rotten.

I was doing a clinical rotation about an hour from home and had a long lunch break, so I decided to stop by a family-owned pet store and see their puppies. Inside a little plastic tote on the floor next to the puppies were two TINY baby Syrian hamsters. I had made up my mind I was coming back for one at the end of my shift when a woman (one of the owners) comes up to me with a ball of fluff. "Hamsters are great, but you're never going to look back if you get one of these," she told me. In her hands was this small white guinea pig with little spots of white around its eye. I knew NOTHING about guinea pigs, so I told her not today.