Misc posts on topical issues

Lynx
RESIST

Post   » Thu Aug 13, 2015 5:00 pm

Topical issue (historical, really):
Why did we fight the civil war?

Head of Dept. of History at West Point destroys argument that Civil War wasn't fought over slavery

http://www.dailykos.com/story/2015/08/11/1411087/-Head-of-De ... ?detail=hide

The short video posted is so on point! Though no one was around, I was clapping like crazy when he finished! Very clear. A grade school student would get most of it and a high school student definitely.

snowflakey
E's Moriarity

Post   » Thu Aug 13, 2015 5:51 pm

Thanks Lynx! That is a great video. When I was a student, we learned that the Civil War was fought to end slavery, and that slavery was a significant component of the economic and social structure of the South, so any "state's rights" argument was in and of itself about the states' rights to continue with slavery. It is frightening how that history has been revised in the past 40 years or so.

Lynx
RESIST

Post   » Thu Aug 13, 2015 9:28 pm

I'm sure I learned the Civil War was fought to end slavery too! I don't get revisionist history. It makes no sense.

And for anyone who wants a direct link to this video (short), here you go!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pcy7qV-BGF4

Erinspigs

Post   » Thu Aug 13, 2015 10:24 pm

Wow my studies this past year have relevance!

The civil was fought to preserve the Union. The issues were many, with slavery one of them but not the only one, bye any stretch. To say the Civil War was fought entirely to end slavery in my opinion isn't really accurate

Lincoln was perfectly clear on this. Here is one of many many writings by Lincoln where he says so, in a letter to Horace Greely:

As to the policy I "seem to be pursuing" as you say, I have not meant to leave any one in doubt.