buccal pad separator emergency

Mum
I GAVE, dammit!

Post   » Thu Aug 17, 2006 8:59 pm

Help - they're stuck in the pig's mouth. Anybody had this experience before?

snowflakey
E's Moriarity

Post   » Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:16 pm

Ack! Did they break so that they won't squeeze in to remove them? I hope you get them out soon.

Mum
I GAVE, dammit!

Post   » Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:27 pm

not broken - stuck

snowflakey
E's Moriarity

Post   » Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:28 pm

Poor pig. I have no experience with using them myself. I hope you can unstick them soon.

Mum
I GAVE, dammit!

Post   » Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:41 pm

eff it - I'm going to have to go to the ER, and it's at least an hour away.

How can this be?

Anybody?

rshevin

Post   » Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:50 pm

I've never used buccal pad seperators myself but all I can imagine is the pig got nervous and has contracted the muscles in his mouth and is holding the instrument in there. Try to stay calm and try to get the pig calm, perhaps going into a dark room. Sit there together for a few minutes and then try to gently ease the instrument out. If you can, you may also want to wiggle, gently of course, to release any suction that has occured between the cheeks and the pads. The emergency vet is not a bad idea of course.

Lynx
Celebrate!!!

Post   » Thu Aug 17, 2006 10:31 pm

Are they the ones on the teeth or the cheeks? Can anybody give you a hand? Are the teeth wedged in some way?

I have to confess that I was never brave enough to use the buccal pad separators I got on any of my pigs. I suppose this makes me a whimp.

I am so sorry you are having problems with them.

Fweeprluvr

Post   » Fri Aug 18, 2006 1:15 am

I just found this and just e-mailed you, but if you check here first and need help, just call me. I don't know anything about them, but would be glad to come help if you need someone.

klynne

Post   » Fri Aug 18, 2006 1:48 am

Holy crap.

Mum, what happened? I hope all is well now.

Mum
I GAVE, dammit!