GI Upset

rshevin

Post   » Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm

This is my first time posting a question about my pig although I've been responding to posts for a while.

I have an adult male (approx 4 yr, 1.4 kg) short-hair with occasional GI troubles which have recurred tonight. Symptoms over the past few days were simply misshapen poos. They had a "squeezed" quality to the tail end. Initially I treated with a perianal sack wash and watched the condition.

Over the past hour he has started to look somewhat tired and lethargic and his poos have nearly stopped. Earlier tonight they began to become soft and green but thankfully still solid. I have given 0.1mL simethicone PO as he's had gas issues in the past with no success as well as 1mL water. He'll energetically eat veggies but doesn't seem very interested in anything else although I do hear him drinking behind me as I type. I can palpate some kind of mass in his abdomen, right side, midway between his ribs and his hips as I was massaging his belly to relieve any possible gas. The mass isn't sensitive to him although he wasn't pleased with the massage overall. No weight loss (digital scale).

I'd welcome any advice and recommendations. I have critical care in the freezer (it's open and old but dry and has been stored there since opening to stay fresher) and some babyfood carrots in the emergency box. I don't have any pedialyte but could probably find an open drug store if I drove around town. The fridge has red/orange peppers, parsley, celery, a pear and grapes (mine).

I know catching things early to prevent an emergency is crucial to pig health. My vet is supposed to be very cavy savvy but I've never been dreadfully comfortable there (long story). Of course I'd love it if he could get better with home treatment but we can see the vet in the morning if necessary.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

sus4rabbitsnpigs

Post   » Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:31 pm