Possibly pregnant and I need ADVICE...

Kamalia

Post   » Sun Sep 28, 2008 5:36 pm

I bought two male guinea pigs from what I have always considered to be a reputable home some 4 weeks ago now. One has always been slightly larger than the other but we were told he was slightly older.

Anyway, to cut a long story short, I have since discovered that the larger 'he' is in fact a 'she' and I think the reason she is larger (and getting larger all the time) is that she may well be pregnant.

I am fairly new to guinea pig ownership and certainly would not have gone out and intentionally bought a pregnant sow. However, now that she's here, I want to do the best by her.

What I really want to know is how pregnant she may be and if / when I should seperate her from the boar? I know the gestation period is 10 weeks but as I don not know how far gone she is, I do not know when to expect the babies. Is there any way to tell how far into her pregnancy she may be?

What signs will she show in the final stages ie, will her shape change dramatically, when will she start filling with milk, anything else? How long is the labour likely to last? Does she need to be inside (a house) when she goes in to labour?

I have read lots of general info on breeding etc from different sites. However, my situation slightly different as I don't know when she conceived.

Any help at all will be gratefully received. Thanks. x

salana
GL is Just Peachy

Post   » Sun Sep 28, 2008 5:37 pm

You should separate her now.

Tracis
Let Sleeping Pigs Lie

Post   » Sun Sep 28, 2008 5:41 pm

There is a lot of helpful information on this page:

https://www.guinealynx.info/reproduction.html

An exotics vet might be able to tell you if she is pregnant.

What is her current diet?

Edited to add:

"Does she need to be inside (a house) when she goes in to labour?"

Do you mean inside a little hiding hut inside her cage? Or do you mean inside your house?

Kamalia

Post   » Sun Sep 28, 2008 5:49 pm