GI Stasis Help- I'm new to this!

CheddarMom

Post   » Thu Jul 06, 2017 11:22 am

Hi fellow Piggy lovers,
Disclaimer: sorry this post is so long

I know that GI stasis has been covered a lot on this page and in this forum, but I can't help but still need some reassurance about my pig Chester, so any wise words would be helpful! I don't have much experience with sick piggies.

Chester is about 3 years old (male) and has been in great health up until this point. On Saturday (about 5 days ago) we took him to the emergency vet because we noticed he was not eating and was more lethargic than usual. We made sure to see a vet that is well-trained in exotic/small animals. They treated him very kindly. After chatting with them, giving him an x-ray and examination, they determined he had GI stasis. He was also slightly weezey and had a lot of eye discharge, so they thought he had a small URI even though his lungs were showing clear on the x-ray. The x-ray also showed that his stomach was distended, but there was no blockage. They gave him fluids and sent us home with 2 GI motility meds (Cisapride & Reglan), and an antibiotic (Baytril) to combat the URI. He is also on a pain med (Meloxicam?). They also gave us Oxbow Critical Care for force feeding. I have recently started giving him probiotics after reading that Baytril can sometimes upset the belly.