Petco has my sick guinea pig

lmlong84

Post   » Fri Mar 16, 2018 5:11 pm

I am new to the guinea pig world, and recently bought a baby cavy from Petco (I now know that wasn't the only option and will definitely turn towards adoption in the future). After about 2 weeks, she started developing a persistent sneeze, and I noticed some crustiness around her eyes. I called Petco and they told me that I had to bring her in and they would take her to the vet for evaluation. I brought her in on a Saturday (3/3), and was told that they would take her to the vet on Monday and call me. By Wednesday, I hadn't heard back so I called the store, and the store manager told me that she had a URI, and had to stay at the store and be administered antibiotics until 3/17. The manager called me two days ago and said that the antibiotics weren't working so they switched her to a different type, and now she has to stay for another 11 days. I am feeling very uneasy about the entire situation, and was wondering if anyone had any experience or could provide insight as to whether this is standard procedure. Thanks in advance!!!

bpatters
And got the T-shirt

Post   » Fri Mar 16, 2018 5:54 pm

It's definitely standard procedure for both PetCo and PetSmart to keep the pig. Usually they buy the pig back from you, and if it survives their sometimes-dodgy treatment, you can buy it back.

I'm sorry you've learned the hard way about pet store purchases. Illness isn't the only likely problem -- parasites, mis-sexed animals, and pregnant baby sows are also very common.

PinkRufus
Contributor in 2018

Post   » Sat Mar 17, 2018 1:48 am

Did they buy her back from you, or do you still have ownership?  If you still own her, you have the right to demand her back and take her to your own vet.  If you are able to do this, check with the people here for a vet recommendation, because you wouldn't want to end up taking her to someplace worse than Petco's vet.