Lice Treatment in the US

Winstonthepig

Post   » Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:51 am

Hi, this is my first time posting so hopefully I’m doing it right!
I currently have 4 male guinea pigs all over a year old. One of them is a lethal pig who is blind an deaf. Recently I noticed my one pig Winston has what looks like lice. They are small white yellow specks crawling around on the base of his hair and there are white dots sitting at the base of his hair too (eggs? ).
My issue is that I can not afford vet care for all 4 guinea pigs right now so I was hoping to treat at home. I have two routes of treatment that I’ve heard of and need help determining what’s best.
I know gorgeous guineas has a lice and easy shampoo I can buy. Is this shampoo alone enough of a treatment for lice if it’s paired with cleaning cages and multiple baths?
Next is Ivermectin- I’m a little nervous to try but I’m desperate at this point. I found some on amazon but I wasn’t sure if it’s the right kind. Could someone help me find the right stuff and tell me exactly how to use it/treatment plan for 4 pigs?
(IE- dose calculating, how long to treat/repeat)
I’m nervous on using this on my pigs and them having some kind of adverse reaction but I don’t know what else to do right now. Thank you for any help!

Winstonthepig

Post   » Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:52 am

bpatters
And got the T-shirt

Post   » Mon Sep 10, 2018 12:12 pm

Sorry your piggies have lice. You'll have to treat them all.

You want either .5% or 1% pour-on or injectable (don't worry, you won't inject it) ivermectin solution, which you can find from a farm-feed store or from Amazon. Durvet makes the .5% stuff, but there are other manufacturers.

You'll also need a scale to weigh your pigs -- $15 or less at places like Target, Walmart, Bed Bath & Beyond, etc. And you'll need a 1 cc syringe without a needle, but be sure it's NOT an insulin syringe. They have different markings, and you'll underdose your pigs.