NEED HELP!!! Finding Pet Insurance

urtlkin2piggy

Post   » Wed Apr 28, 2010 12:10 pm

Hey everyone!

I'm new in this game and basically me and my boyfriend are looking for guinea pig insurance. I live in New York City and we are looking to find insurance fast to get my piggies checked out!

I have two piggies and i need help.

Thank You

KidMe

Post   » Wed Apr 28, 2010 12:19 pm

I was looking into this last night! VIP pet insurance offers small animal insurance, but you have to call them to ask about it. They don't offer the quotes online. If you find out, let me know! (I'm in NYC too!)

caruba
Supporter in '10

Post   » Wed Apr 28, 2010 12:31 pm

Check out this thread https://www.guinealynx.info/forums/viewt ... =insurance

It sounds like most people pay $9 per month per pig with the aforementioned insurance provider.

urtlkin2piggy

Post   » Wed Apr 28, 2010 12:50 pm

VIP or VPI??? Because i looked into VPI pet insurance but they way they work is through reimbursement.

Cinnabuns Legacy

Post   » Wed Apr 28, 2010 1:03 pm

As far as I know, all pet insurance works through reimbursement. You might want to look into CareCredit instead (http://carecredit.com/); if you get it paid off in the promotional period there is no APR.

urtlkin2piggy

Post   » Wed Apr 28, 2010 2:42 pm

i checked it out and Its $9 per piggy a month.

And, they take a $50 deducible for every new illness claim.

and we get back 90% of the money after the deducible is taken out.

Example If we go to the vet for the first time and have to pay $200, they will take $50 out and give us back $135. So we basically pay $65 instead the full two hundred.

Perpetual Pig Slave

Post   » Wed Apr 28, 2010 5:42 pm

That works out to $111 per year. or around $600 for the average lifespan of a pig.

As long as they never start asking the question "do you belong to GL" on their forms sounds like a good bet.