Bedding

Dgorgo

Post   » Tue Oct 24, 2017 10:13 pm

So many brag about fleece for bedding. I tried it and found that it is always wet and it holds the odor. No at all absorbent. I have to change the fleece every other day. I have several pieces and am always washing. My piggy produces a lot of urine. This is my first time with piggies so I don't know if that is normal. I am thinking of trying aspen. Anyone here use it?

Lynx
RESIST

Post   » Tue Oct 24, 2017 10:41 pm

You can try that. Be sure you have a large cage. Not all fleece is the same. Some kinds work better and all work best in a large cage.

bpatters
And got the T-shirt

Post   » Tue Oct 24, 2017 10:58 pm

Are you putting something absorbent under the fleece? It only works to wick the moisture through to an absorbent layer underneath, and won't work at all by itself.

Nuoc Mam

Post   » Wed Oct 25, 2017 2:31 am

I use wicked fleece with 2 layers of Uhual moving pads inside and it works great...I do daily cage cleaning but the fleece last me a good week with not much odor.

pigjes
Cavy Comic

Post   » Wed Oct 25, 2017 3:39 pm

I have used U-haul in the past and was absolutely not impressed, it smelled fast. Personally, I prefer 100% cotton towels as absorbent material under fleece. I have tried just about everything, besides bamboo fiber fabric.

CavyGirl04

Post   » Sat Oct 28, 2017 4:16 pm

I have 2 pads (going to be 3, if I ever get around to sewing the last one...) with 2 layers U-Haul pads. They last 4-5 days for me. With less absorbency, they would last a lot less time.
Also, makes sure the fleece has been washed before using it. If it's not, it has a waterproof coating that doesn't let the water soak into the lower absorbent layer. Mine had to be washed 2 - 5 times before I could use it to make "piggy pads." (I used several different pieces of fleece)

Soniah

Post   » Sat Nov 04, 2017 2:59 am