Advice for a new cavy owner?

Luv4animals139

Post   » Sat Aug 11, 2018 10:00 pm

Hello all!

First Impressions
I just adopted two cavies. Their names are Lilac and Yogurt. Lilac is a long-haired black and white cavy, I'm not sure of her exact breed, other then it's not abyssian. Yogurt is an American cavy. I was told that I was adopting two three year old females. They came with their previous cage, a cage that was about four square feet, which I know is way too small. I have since made them a C&C cage and now they have over three times the amount of space.

Inspecting General Health
While inspecting both cavies, I noticed I had two males, not females. They both had hardened feces on their feet, and their nails were too long. So I trimmed their nails, soaked their feet, and detached the feces from their feet.

The Problem
As I am new to cavies, I have been trying to give them everything they need, for the first few days I had them I left them alone with a blanket over the cage. However, I'm having troubles with Lilac in particular he'll wail loudly if anyone comes within a foot of the cage, and this is usually followed by chattering. Lilac will sometimes chase after Yogurt and then Yogurt will start chattering too. I don't want to separate them because Lilac is afraid of humans, and I know they need interaction. I also live in an apartment and I would prefer to build both of them a large cage, rather then have two smaller cages. I want to make sure they both have the space they need, but I don't want them fighting either.

Summary