Help, everything is normal but she has soft stool

XxNutmeg

Post   » Sun Aug 06, 2017 1:41 pm

I am very new to having cavies as pets. This is going to be a long post...

I did the stupid thing and impulse bought the cavies my friend put in my arms at the pet store. Since then I've gotten her acquainted with another female companion and built them a much larger cage(c&c). I'm using fleece bedding over some crib pads as an absorbent layer. I built a kitchen area with the coroplast that has carefresh paper bedding where they get oxbow pellets, fresh water, endless hay, and daily veggies. I vacuum the cage every other day and change the bedding weekly. They get various combinations of peas, carrots, zucchini, green bell pepper, and romain daily (not all of them every day) and I've given them a small piece of banana once and one time some apple with the peal.

I've had them both for over a month now and late last night I noticed a strong small from the cage. After investigating there was no diarrhea just a lot of very soft stool. This morning I did a look over of both girls, they both look fine (eyes, ears, nose). Isabelle had a messy bum but seemed otherwise healthy, Annabelle seemed perfectly healthy. They're both eating and drinking Isabelle is no less active than normal. Isabelle at first didn't even touch the veggies but now both of them go ham at feeding time.

I did just notice that Isabelle is putting more effort into her wheeking, it sounds more breathy, if that makes sense. But her normal breathing doesn't sound labored at all.